Obsessed With Being Dignified

I consider myself rather non obsessive. But there are notable exceptions. One such exception would be my obsession with being dignified. As if I was attempting to resemble any good 19th century gentleman, I will take poor attitudes, personal insults, and bad news with dignified austerity.

Examples:

Your dog died!My reply in a calm, dignified voice; “You have brought to me greatly distressing news. I cannot help but be saddened by this solemn event. Show me to the remains of this poor retched animal so that I may go about it’s disposal.

I’m leaving you David! I have met another man. He is better that you in every conceivable way. He is so far superior to you that I cannot help but hate you in comparison.My reply in a calm voice; “This is quite unfortunate that this has happened to me. I guess I should give you both my best and carry on with myself. Well, I suppose I should leave then. Goodbye my once beloved one.

So am I weak, timid, or a sorry excuse for a man?

There are things I have little to no control over; so why not be dignified about it? But I don’t want to give the impression I would take anything from any body. If you give me a harsh enough slight, I would be inclined to declare you a hopeless reprobate. Then I would either verbally assault the person in a way that would crush their sense of self or challenge them to a duel in an open field with dueling pistols. Unfortunately the latter is frowned upon by modern society. :..-(

What does this say about me?

I have no idea. I can’t tell you if it’s a good quality or a bad quality for someone to have. All I can say is it’s not working all that great. I have observed people act incredibly undignified and still get mostly everything they want. This is rather confusing and a bit more than irritating to my sensibilities. Perhaps I am just a hopeless romantic about gentlemanly personal conduct in a 21st century society.

Do I get a bigger piece of the proverbial pie for this attitude?

Nope! I guess I will need to cry like a spoiled petulant child and climb up peoples asses until they give me what I want. But I don’t think I can stoop to such a low point in character. It has been my realization I need to live with myself and I can’t do that if I can’t stand myself. So I will carry on with my personal statuesque. 🙂

About David Schaafsma

"But I don't want to go among mad people," said Alice. "Oh, you can't help that," said the cat. "We're all mad here." ~Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland
This entry was posted in Humor, Life, Phylosophy, Thoughts, Uncategorized, WordPress.com and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

